Shogun Would Rather Be Cut Than Fight Glover Teixeira

In what came as suprising news, legendary fighter Shogun Rua apparently told UFC President Dana White that he would rather be cut from the promotion than have to fight up-and-coming light heavyweight Glover Teixeira.

“(Shogun Rua) said he would actually rather be cut than have to fight (Glover Teixeira). Dude, nobody wants to fight this guy. Nobody wants to fight this guy. We’re trying to match this guy up with somebody but he didn’t mind fighting Brandon Vera, so he’s fighting Brandon Vera. I don’t think (putting Shogun in the main event of UFC on FOX 4) is rewarding him, I don’t want to sound like I’m disrespecting Shogun because I’m not, I’m just telling the truth. It’s verbatim what his people said when we talked to them. You know me; I tell it like it is. If you don’t want that out in public, don’t say it to me, don’t say it on the phone, cause I’m going to say what was said. But Shogun’s a warrior, the guy has fought everybody from PRIDE to the UFC. His last fight with Dan Henderson was awesome. Yeah, it is what it is. I don’t think we’re rewarding him, it’s just one of those weird situations. I’ve never seen a guy at the level Shogun is at not want to fight a guy so bad.” -Dana White

Coming off the explosive win against Kyle Kingsbury, Teixeira looks to move up the ranks of the 205-lb division. According to the UFC President though, don’t expect that route to go through the likes of the Shogun Rua, whose camp who denies the claims made by White.

Shogun doesn’t seem too keen on facing the likes of Teixeira

