Overeem Seeking to Have Suspension Shortened

Alistair Overeem: “We’re going to try to get licensed sooner and I’m confident that I will succeed.”

Top UFC Heavyweight contender Alistair Overeem will not be eligible to reapply for a license until December 27, 2012 making him unlikely to fight on a New Year’s Eve/New Year’s Day card as the UFC does not promote unlicensed fighters.

Overeem still seems determined to make a New Year’s card though, telling the media that he’s interested in trying to be re-licensed sooner.

“That’s my goal, I know that the UFC will not promote me on their card as long as I’m not licensed. That being said, we’re going to try to get licensed sooner and I’m confident that I will succeed.”

“The last few months have actually been calm media-wise, which was good. I moved to Miami. I’m full-time here now and I got all settled there. I’m still training, always training, always improving my game.”

Image courtesy SBNation.com

