Broken Bones: Champ Facing Possible Nerve Damage

Last Sautrday Jon Jones fought off the biggest challenge to his belt yet, and he’s even got the X-rays to prove it. Appearing at the post-fight press conference in a cast, the four-time defending champion elaborated on the armbar attempt that almost sealed the victory for the underdog Vitor Belfort

Jones somehow survived Belfort’s dazzling armbar attempt a minute into the fight

At the press conference, Jones elaborated on how close the fight really was to being over.

“In there, I felt as if there was a point where I don’t think physically he could have extended it even more, I mean, it was popping, and I felt after 25 years that I’ve never felt that feeling before. I just came to terms with what was going to happen, just thinking, ‘Man, I can’t believe I’m getting ready to lose this way.’ I wasn’t close to tapping out at all.” Jones continued, “I was ready to face the music and get it broken if I had to get it broken. I proved a lot to myself tonight and I’m grateful for it. I haven’t gotten x-rays, so I’m not going to sit here and feed into a little pain. But I’ll definitely live on to fight another day. Every time I extended my right hand or tried to use an elbow on my right side, I felt it. I felt as if I really didn’t have any power in my right side at all but it’s a long ways from my heart.”

Meanwhile, Vitor Belfort gave his opponent credit for showing such resiliency in the fight.

“I had my opportunity, I think when I heard the pop, I kind of lost the pressure, and he got away. It is what it is. I thought I really had that arm, but he fought through it. He did great.”

No official word yet on the champ’s injuries but there is relative certainty that Jones’ ulna was broken during the armbar attempt, and that there may be nerve damage in the left arm of the young phenom.

UFC President Dana White, who had a strained relationship with the champion before the fight over the UFC 151 debacle, was nothing but supportive of Jones at the same press conference

“There’s no doubt that this was Jones’ best performance. He looked phenomenal tonight. There was a lot of questions about Jon Jones that people kept asking over and over again, no matter who he fought. No matter how good he fought. Could he take a punch? He got hit with some big punches tonight from a real puncher, and he took them. He was injured. He had the heart to keep going, and he had a great fight tonight. There can be no more nay-saying about Jon Jones. You love him or you hate him… but you can’t deny that the kid is extremely talented and one of the best in the world.”

Jones was seen at Sunday Night Football cheering on both brothers (who were playing against eachother) while wearing a sling around his injured left arm. His brother Arthur plays for the Baltimore Ravens and his other brother Chandler is a rookie for the New England Patriots, just drafted this year in the first round. Arthur’s Ravens won the game with a last second field goal. As far as Jon, a timetable for his return to the octagon has yet to be announced.

Images courtesy MixedMartialArts.com, cdn.wegotthiscovered.com, UFC

