White: Matt Mitrione Makes Me Sick

Dana White is not happy with heavyweight Matt “Meathead” Mitrione

Replacing the injured Frank Mir, Matt Mitrione was offered a championship fight against current Strikeforce champ Daniel Cormier. Mitrione said no. UFC President Dana White wasn’t happy with his response. Addressing the press after UFC on FUEL TV 5, White didn’t pull any punches.

“It fucking makes me sick. Listen, you don’t want big opportunities, I hear you. I get it, then. All I can say is, I guess he doesn’t want big opportunities. I get it. Duly noted.”

“He wants to fight a guy who weighs 205, but doesn’t want to fight the guy who’s the real heavyweight, the legitimate guy who’s ranked. And Mitrione’s not getting any younger. Fuckin’ insane. It makes no sense to me, and it’s insane. I’m a little bummed out by it. We’ll figure it out. Yeah, (he’s already got a fight booked). He said, ‘I’ll just take that one.'”

White contrasted Cormier’s willingness to fight to Mitrione’s:

“Cormier will fight anybody. The guys who are the real guys fight anybody, man. They’ll fight anybody.”

Image courtesy CageToday.com

