Dana White Guarantees Jones/Silva Superfight

“I guarantee you that fight will absolutely happen,”

Dana White has never been one to mince words or hold back, and he has not held back talking about the much anticipated superfight between Jon Jones and Anderson Silva. On a recent conference call, he upped his confidence is making the fight.

“I said it in Brazil, and I’ll say it again: Hell yes, they will (fight). I guarantee you that fight will absolutely happen.”

“When people say that, it’s crazy because a lot of people believe that Jon Jones should be fighting at heavyweight anyway, so to say that GSP-Anderson Silva doesn’t make sense doesn’t make sense. The cool thing about it is those are the top-three pound-for-pound fighters in the world, and the greatest fighter of all-time and the No. 1 pound-for-pound fighter of all time falls right in the middle. So [Silva] can fight Georges St-Pierre, and he can fight Jon Jones. They both make sense.”

Jon Jones may not be available at light heavyweight forever, which puts urgency on the possible matchup. Jones talked about moving up to heavyweight in 2013 on the call:

“I’ll definitely move up to heavyweight, but it will probably be around 2013, maybe at the end of 2013. Right now, I have a nutritionist, and I’m starting to take the career a lot more serious than I used to, so my weight cuts are getting a lot easier. “

“I walk around a lot thinner, naturally, so that right now I’m like 225 (pounds). It’s like a 20-pound cut. That’s really easy. So I may look bigger than most people than I’m fighting, but I’m really not.” 

Jones will face Chael Sonnen in April 2013 concluding the seventeenth season of ‘The Ultimate Fighter’

 

Image courtesy MMAhawaii.com

