Sonnen Acknowledges Rift with Ex-Teammate Dan Henderson

“I haven’t spoken to him, but, um – I haven’t spoken to Dan. We’ll leave it at that.”

Chael Sonnen and Dan Henderson had always been nothing but positive about each other  The fellow Team Quest members had trained together and had been friends for years. That all apparently changed after Henderson posted critical tweets about Sonnen’s title shot at Jon Jones, calling it bad for the sport.

“I guess I should just quit training to win fights and to be exciting for the fans and just go to shit talking school,”

“I will always [have] love for Chael and don’t blame him for saying yes to a big opportunity (but) … giving him that fight [right] now degrades the sport of MMA,”

When pressed on his relationship with Henderson, Sonnen hinted at a rift with ‘Hendo’. He also answered others who criticized the match-up:

“I haven’t spoken to him, but, um – I haven’t spoken to Dan. We’ll leave it at that.”

“I keep hearing that I talked my way into a fight, and guys, it’s true. But the word that I used was ‘yes.’ When the chance came, they said, ‘Do you want to fight?’ I said, ‘Yes.’ Contrary to what it may look like on TV, this guy (Jones) is pretty darn good, and there’s not a lot of guys that want to fight him. And contrary to what the oddsmakers may say, this guy (Sonnen) is pretty good too.”

“There’s not a lot of guys that want to fight me, and a lot of guys complained that I got the fight with Jon, but not one of those guys said, ‘I want to fight Jon.’ Not one of them.”

Sonnen and Jones will fight in April 2013 and the winner could face Henderson.

Image courtesy CombatSpot.com

 

 

