BJ Penn Back in Championship Form

Penn addressed his return to peak shape and his legacy in the sport

It looks as if BJ Penn is back in prime shape for his upcoming UFC on FOX fight with Rory MacDonald. In a new training video posted by Penn, he looks to be back in the physical shape achieved at the peak of his title run; and that should have everyone at welterweight worried. Penn gave lots of reasons for his return to peak shape in recent interviews.

Speaking with MMAjunkie, he addressed disparaging tweets made by MacDonald:

“That really lit a fire under my butt. We took my belly off. I think the best thing for me was the fight getting postponed.”

He also spoke about his legacy on the UFC on FOX 5 media call:

“I was telling Dana, I watch all these interviews. No one says my name in the greatest fighters anymore and it’s my fault. I told Dana I have a real problem with that. I want to thank all those people even Benson Henderson always gives me props. I want to be known as one of the best. I have some things left to accomplish.”

On the same call, he also addressed the possibility of the GSP/Anderson superfight:

“That fight is for George. I don’t want to say much on that. Everybody on this call knows what BJ would do.”

 

Image courtesy BleacherReport.com

